Embark on New Adventures!

Do your kids love a great adventure? Traveling to new worlds, exploring islands for treasure, and more? Then check out these fantastic new adventure graphic novels, coming this Summer!

PACEY PACKER UNICORN TRACKER #2: HORN SLAYER

from J.C. Phillipps

Pacey and Slasher the Unicorn are back and THIS time it’s personal in this laugh-out-loud graphic novel series with ATTITUDE that’s just right for anyone who loves (or hates!) unicorns!

The last time Pacey Packer was in Rundalyn, the world of unicorns, she sliced the horn off of Arkane, the Evil Apha Unicorn, and took away his power. KI-AHHHH! TAKE THAT BAD GUYS! Now the unicorns and other creatures under Arkane’s rule call her . . . THE HORN SLAYER!

Pacey may be a LEGEND in the world of unicorns, but she didn’t finish the job. With Slasher’s help, can she use the power of the unicorn horn to rescue the statue kids and escape the fury of the Great (but seriously horn-less and now SERIOUSLY mad at her) Arkane?! 

Perfect for fans of PHOEBE AND HER UNICORN and BAD GUYS!

On Sale: June 1, 2021 | Young Middle-Grade GN

MAGIC TREE HOUSE: DINOSAURS BEFORE DARK

from Mary Pope Osborne, Jenny Laird, Kelly & Nichole Matthews

The #1 bestselling chapter book is now a graphic novel! Magic. Mystery. Time-travel. Get whisked back in time in the magic tree house with Jack and Annie!

     Where did the tree house come from? Before Jack and Annie can find out, the mysterious tree house whisks them to the prehistoric past. Now they have to figure out how to get home. Can they do it before dark…or will they become a dinosaur’s dinner?

For the first time in graphic novel—live the adventure again in the very first Magic Tree House book, with new art from comic artists Kelly and Nichole Matthews!

Perfect for fans of the original MAGIC TREE HOUSE Series and AMULET!

On Sale: June 15, 2021 | Chapter Book GN

SHARK AND BOT #2: SLEEPAWAY CHAMPS

from Brian Yanish

Shark and Bot, the two most unlikely friends, are back for more hilarious and epic adventures!

It’s Summer vacation and Shark and Bot have a new adventure– at sleepaway camp! Shark (always a nervous nelly!) quickly starts feeling homesick. Can he make it through the week? Will Bot short circuit at the lake? Find out in this hilarious new installment. 

Perfect for fans of NARWHAL AND JELLY, BAD GUYS, and ELEPHANT & PIGGIE!

On sale: June 15, 2021 | Chapter Book GN

TURTLE IN PARADISE

from Jennifer L Holm & Savanna Ganucheau

Eleven-year-old Turtle is smart and tough and has seen enough of the world not to expect a Hollywood ending. After all, it’s 1935 and moneyand sometimes even dreams—is scarce. So when Turtle’s mother gets a job housekeeping for a lady who doesn’t like kids, Turtle heads off to Florida to live with relatives. Florida’s like nothing Turtle’s ever seen before, though. It’s full of ragtag boy cousins, family secrets to unravel . . . and even a little bit of fun. Before she knows what’s happened, Turtle finds herself coming out of her shell. And as she does, her world opens up in the most unexpected ways. 

     Inspired by family stories, three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm blends family lore with America’s past in this charming gem of a novel, now adapted into graphic novel form by rising star Savanna Ganucheau.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemier, Shannon Hale, and Jen Wang!

On Sale: June 29, 2021 | Middle-Grade GN

SUPER SIDEKICKS #2: OCEAN’S REVENGE

from Gavin Aung Than

Calling fans of CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS and HILO! Sidekicks are SUPER in this humor- and action-packed graphic novel series. Expect bugs, well-read dinosaurs, and lots of goo! 

     The Super Sidekicks are back! JJ, Flygirl, Dinomite, and Goo are settling into their fancy new headquarters and living the sweet life of superheroes. The Mother of the Seas, on the other hand, is NOT happy. She’s sick of land dwellers using the ocean as a dumping ground . . . and she’s seeking revenge! Can the Sidekicks step up and save humanity from the ocean’s rage? 

Perfect for fans of CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS, BIG NATE, and Superheroes!

Mel the Chosen

from Rachele Aragno

In this magical middle-grade graphic novel, nothing is more dangerous than a wish come true. 

     More than anything, Mel wants to be a grown-up, and to make her own decisions, instead of having her parents pick what she wears, where they live, what they have for dinner, and where she goes to school. Then Mel gets the chance to travel to a magical world, where she can make her own choices and return all grown up. But what happens when you get older without living your life along the way? Enchanting adventures and magical mishaps abound as Mel grapples with what it means to grow up. 

Perfect for fans of ASTER AND THE ACCIDENTAL MAGIC and WITCHES OF BROOKLYN!

An EPIC interview with Lincoln Peirce!

 

Max and the Midknights are back in an epic new sequel and NYT bestselling creator Lincoln Peirce shared his inspiration for this new quest!

Max and the Midknights have returned and we are so excited! Can you tell readers what inspired this story (book 1 and 2!) and its 14thCentury setting? 

I have always loved adventure stories that include a healthy dose of comedy, like the Tintin books or Carl Barks’s “Uncle Scrooge”  A number of years ago, I wrote some comic stories that were spoofs of classic adventure tales — a pirate story, a mountain climbing story, etc.  The one that I liked the best was set in medieval times.  It combined elements of two classic adventures, “The Sword In The Stone” and “Robin Hood,” but the emphasis was on humor.  There was a lot of slapstick, wordplay, and anachronistic dialogue.  I really enjoyed working on it, but the format wasn’t all that practical.  It was too long for a comic book and too short for a graphic novel.  So I set it aside and didn’t think about it for quite some time.  Years later, when I looked at it again, I realized that with a little work I could transform it into a full-length novel.  As it turned out, I changed a lot of things about that original story.  I added a number of new characters, and the overall narrative is quite different.  But other elements that I liked — particularly the medieval setting — remained in place.  I enjoyed working on Max & the Midknights so much that what I’d first thought would be a single book is now going to be a 3-book series.

What is it about medieval times and heroes that fascinate young readers (in your opinion)? 

I think kids always enjoy reading about worlds that seem exotic.  There’s something exciting about immersing yourself in a story that is utterly unlike your own life.  Max’s world is one filled with epic adventures, fantastic creatures, and magical misdeeds — just the sort of highly imaginative story elements that I would have loved reading about as a kid.  But the colorful settings and legendary events are only part of the appeal.  As much as kids may enjoy reading books that are pure fantasy, they also love discovering parts of their own lives in those stories.  That’s why I think it’s important that Max and her fellow Midknights are children.  They’re the same age, more or less, as the kids reading the books, and they have many of the same problems, vulnerabilities and fears.  My hope is that young readers identify with Max and her companions.  Heroes are more compelling when you realize that they’re not superheroes, but ordinary people who find themselves in extraordinary situations.

Can you share a little bit about how you came up with the designs for the characters and setting? Since it is set in the Medieval Ages, what kind of reference material did you use? Was having some historical context really important to you or did you embrace making it more of your own concept?  

I’m not a historian by any means!  What little I know about the Middle Ages in Europe (I imagine the kingdom of Byjovia as part of Europe) is that it was a difficult time to be alive.  There was violence, widespread disease, malnutrition, mass illiteracy — not fun!  So I knew that I didn’t want to write a realistic story about the Middle Ages.  That would have been too depressing.  I was interested in telling a story that takes part in a world that has the trappings of medieval times — castles, moats, swords, armor — but is filtered through a modern sensibility.  I’ll confess that most of my visual reference points back when I started the book weren’t scholarly works but pop culture pieces like comic books, TV, and Robin Hood movies.  But I subsequently consulted a number of books about medieval architecture, armor, clothing, etc.  And I did quite a few Google searches so that when I drew a wheelbarrow or a gargoyle or a tapestry from the 14th century, I’d get it right.  Language was something else to consider.  I knew it wouldn’t be interesting reading if all the characters expressed themselves in language consistent with 14th century Europe.  Instead, all of them — especially the kids — speak with modern voices.  So overall, I’d say that it wasn’t important to me for the Max & the Midknights books to be accurate historical documents.  Job #1 was to make them funny, and fun to read.

Can you share some of your favorite comics to read/ recommend?

I mentioned him earlier, but it bears repeating:  Carl Barks was the king of Walt Disney comic books during the 40’s, 50’s, and 60’s.  I particularly enjoy his Uncle Scrooge stories, but his Donald Duck comics are every bit as entertaining.  His work is easy to find in book form.  I’ve recently discovered Luke Pearson’s Hilda series, which is tremendous.  Kazu Kibuishi’s Amulet series is pretty great, too.  And because my own background is in comic strips, I always like to recommend some of the classics that are great for readers of all ages:  Charles Schulz’s Peanuts, Bill Watterson’s Calvin and Hobbes, and — lesser known but just as wonderful — Richard Thompson’s Cul de Sac.

You can join the quest today! Click Here!

 

 

Don’t Miss Out! Sign Up Now!

Sign up for news about Random House Graphic's graphic novels for kids and teens.

Random House Graphic