Monsters, Vampires, and Witches!

Oh my! is it Halloween time already? For the kids who LOVE monsters, vampires, and witches, we’ve got some fantastic books for you this summer!

 

THE CARDBOARD KINGDOM #2: ROAR OF THE BEAST

from Chad Sell

Don’t miss this sequel to the Eisner Award-nominated The Cardboard Kingdom as the kids solve the mystery of a new neighborhood monster.

Vijay, the Beast, renounces his title after being bullied by neighborhood teenagers. No one–not his big sister Shikha or his friends–can seem to draw him back out of his shell.

That very night, an unknown monster is spotted roaming the Kingdom after dark. It’s ghastly, it’s quick, and it might even have giant tentacles. Or claws. Or wings. Okay, there might be some varied testimonies on what exactly this monster looks like.

Forget Halloween–the newly minted Monster Mashers will go to any lengths to protect the Kingdom and uncover this mystery. But how did the monster get here? What does it want? And mostly importantly, who is behind its creation? 

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and ALL’S FAIRE IN MIDDLE SCHOOL!

On Sale: June 1, 2021 | Middle-Grade GN

HAM HELSING: VAMPIRE HUNTER 

from Rich Moyer

The monster hunt is on! A rip-roaring graphic novel adventure about the latest in a famous family of vampire-hunting pigs, inspired by legendary monster slayer Van Helsing!

Ham Helsing is the descendant of a long line of adventurers and monster hunters–who don’t often live to rest on their laurels. Ham has always been the odd pig out, preferring to paint or write poetry instead of inventing dangerous (dumb) new ways to catch dangerous creatures.

After his brother Chad’s death, it’s down to Ham to carry on the family legacy of leaping before looking. Reluctantly, he sets out on his first assignment, to hunt a vampire. But Ham soon learns that people aren’t always what they seem and that you need a good team around you to help save your bacon!

Perfect for fans of DOGMAN and HILO! 

On Sale: June 1, 2021 | Middle-Grade GN

MONSTER FRIENDS

from Kaeti Vandorn

Two friends: one big, one little. One old, one young. One grumpy, one cheerful. Both: MONSTERS! From the author of Crabapple Trouble comes a sweet and fun-filled chapter-book graphic novel, with a charming cast of adorable monsters.

Reggie’s plan is to spend the whole summer brooding over his latest adventure gone wrong. But his friendly and curious neighbor, Emily, won’t let him sit alone and unhappy in his house forever! Despite their differences, these two monsters make the perfect pair of explorers. And with a map to make, a beach party to plan, and a sea monster to find, Reggie will have to learn to talk about his feelings and let new friends in!

With bright, gorgeous art by Kaeti Vandorn, Monster Friends features the cutest, fuzziest monsters you’ve ever seen.

Perfect for fans of Ben Clanton’s NARWHAL: UNICORN OF THE SEA!

On Sale: June 22, 2021 | Chapter Book GN

WITCHES OF BROOKLYN: WHAT THE HEX?!

from Sophie Escabasse 

Effie returns in this spellbinding sequel: a middle-grade graphic novel about found family, friendship, and learning to embrace who you are.  

     Could there be even MORE witches in Brooklyn?! Effie is EXCITED to meet so many witches, but what is going on with her friends? Suddenly Effie is no longer the newest kid in school, and it seems like her friends are happy to grow their little group, but Effie isn’t so sure. On top of that, learning magic is HARD WORK! Effie just wants to have fun being a witch, but her life in Brooklyn is about to get weird(er).

The bewitching second book in the Witches of Brooklyn series captures what it means to be a friend, and how growing up can be a little less scary if you throw some magic in the mix.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemier’s SMILE, Svetlana Chmakova’s AWKWARD, and Molly Brooks’ SANITY & TALLULAH!

On Sale: August 31, 2021 | Middle-Grade GN

Don’t Miss Out! Sign Up Now!

Sign up for news about Random House Graphic's graphic novels for kids and teens.

Random House Graphic